World of Warcraft 2009


I was encouraged to report my thoughts on 2009 with the same format as has been used on many other blogs. Keep in mind it won’t be as deep as others, being as I only started the blog in what…like June?

(Wow, time flies).

What did you do in the World of Warcraft in 2009 that you’d never done before?
I could really pull a million things for this question being as the last time I played was pre-Burning Crusade, but the thing that stands out the most was staying very competitive in PvP (world, battlegrounds & arena) despite not being geared as well as most people. On my warrior I had a complete PvP gear set and an epic 2-hander that ensured that I would destroy the entire battleground as long as I had a healer. Re-starting 3.5 years after the fact understandably takes away that advantage I once enjoyed.

What was your favorite new place that you visited?
My instinct is to say Hellfire Peninsula because I love the whole barren area feel that reminded me of Durotaur, but being as I’m way late on that zone I’ll go with Grizzly Hills. The idea of a zone nearly completely based around PvP is awesome, and hopefully the same sort of zones are represented when Cataclysm comes out. I do love Wintergrasp and the concept behind it, however – imagine if there were either different objectives throughout the zone or if more people could join the battle and the zone would actually support it. WG is awesome, I just think it could be even better…so much of the zone is wasted and only used by resource farmers.

What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
More of a support cast. I have a few people in-game that I have played MMO’s with since 2000 and we have done everything together so far, but this simply refers to the idea of having everyone at the same place I am at. Right now we 2 DPS and a healer in our group, with another DPS currently gearing up and 3 re-rolls in progress. One re-roll was an 80 rogue to a paladin, one was a warlock to a druid and the other was a hunter to a warrior. When we’re all rolling together we’ll be one really tough 7.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting Vikt to a level that is competitive in all aspects of the game, to a point where it doesn’t feel like I’ve been out of the game for 3.5 years. I still do old content raids and the occasional quest in the old world, but for the most part I feel like I have most every aspect up to the point of a legitimately aged character.

What was your biggest failure?
Putting the time I put in as a human death knight on a PvE server. In retrospect its complete blasphemy, but that was the circumstances that Halomoo was in to get me to play – so subsequently became mine as well. The experience really only comes in handy for when I’m killing people in Stormwind.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Halo saying, “hey I re-specced to resto”. We originally had 7 people come to this server together and were all a DPS build. As a result, he has become virtually unkillable which has essentially made me unkillable as well. When we get people to hang around us, we become unkillable to a lot more people.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
PUGging battlegrounds alone. The whole reason I did not want to extend my old warrior and his Centurion title was the fact that I never had a healer with me while grinding away at that title (my beta friends had retired at that point). In choosing the death knight class I did so because it had some escapability and a self-healing setup should I choose to use it, which was done for that reason of the old grind. Now I’d just assume do about anything else until I get a partner to go into a BG with.

What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?
Probably World of Ming? I spend most of my time trying to justify top player’s setups on the Armory and reading the Arena Junkies forums, so I guess Ming would be the only classified blog that I make a point to go to everyday. I have a Google Reader account setup where I get posts from all the linked blogs filed under “Other Perspectives” and read them daily, but it’s not every post that one of them introduces something that makes me better at the game. Kind of a trick question being as I really don’t have a favorite, but if I have you linked on here then know that I’ve read about every word you’ve written since I added you.

Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.
That you don’t need to play 40 hours a week to compete. Perhaps this is the way WoW has went since my days where we donned all purples against greens and some blues, but consistent character progression still pits you better equipped than a large majority of what you face. The introduction of cross-server battlegrounds has further cemented this idea into my head as I am regularly the highest DPS in the groups I join, and until them I always felt like my damage sucked cause it wasn’t what everyone advertised for VoA following a Wintergrasp victory.

One Response to “World of Warcraft 2009”

  1. Tahh-Grimmjakk Says:

    I agree with you concerning the time spent on Draenor. It was good however, to get everyone on the same page and back to the Horde! I should hit 76 tonite and I’m looking for 78 or 79 by end of day Sunday.

    Ubertank Grimm

Leave a Reply

