Since the Last Update…

I only wrote 3 posts in February for an all-time low since I started this blog in 2009 (good god time flies), but don’t mistake my lack of posting for a feigning interest in the game. I am still active every night at or around 10pm EST and generally many more Alliance will click “Release Spirit” than I will.

Getting right into things, you may recall my brush with greatness (I guess if you could call it that) when Drunk PvP defeated a very high rated Mannoroth team that contained a few personalities – hell I may have even boasted about killing one, who knows. Anyway, bump that experience in favor of the game I played the other night against Reckful, who if you need an introduction can do so by simply Googling him.

Any time you log into a rated battleground and are facing Alliance-side on Tichondrius, I’ve found that you are probably going to lose. Now in this match we did get 3-capped in the end, but with mine belonging to Horde and the lighthouse belonging to the Alliance, the Alliance managed to cap waterworks and the ensuing 3-cap was essentially from us throwing all at another node. Yes it was an ass-kicking, but I certainly do not feel like we played bad.

The biggest thing I noticed with the team was their ability to switch targets. Sometimes in running BG’s I can call a target and not immediately notice a change in damage against them besides my own, and that’s not necessarily because people weren’t assisting – they were getting CC’d, weren’t right there with me or a variety of other reasons. Against this team, when they picked a target it was at half health in a second. Our healers are unbelievable and the strength of our BG team, but they always found themselves playing catch up against the Tichondrius team.

An example of coordination from that team, our druid Ipsi was cycloning a healer in trying to score a kill, and in the time of the first cyclone the realization to the healer was that he was going to eat the 2nd cyclone as well, and when the 2nd was cast it was stolen by a mage. So if you’re a hopeful 3k rated battleground player in the future, this is what I have to offer you in what you should be shooting for down the line.

As for Reckful, you would think a 3k+ rated player would be roaming the map mopping our shit up all over the place but he defended the lighthouse. Near the end of the match we rushed that node where he promptly put more than half of the damage you see he did into us in a span of about 2 minutes before the game over. Oh well, good times.

Besides that one epic game, my concentration since my last update post has almost been entirely in grinding rated battlegrounds. On nights where our consistent 6 players are not online I may resort to wrecking random BG’s (and good god have I apparently improved), grinding out a little guild reputation or finishing up steps on acquiring more geek points. I believe in my last post I stated I should be well over 300 wins in arena by now with a higher rating, but I think in the past 3 weeks I played 1 game for a conquest rating cap in 3′s per week and then the last was based on my BG rating. I finally understand the Arena guidelines and posts/articles that seem like good players are always switching servers and whatnot, and it’s because there are millions of reasons as to why teams don’t last which I’ve managed to witness often in my first real season of it.

After losing my warrior/paladin to a server transfer following a disagreement with the GM, the GM (leader of my 2′s and 5′s) essentially quit playing due to the lack of a connection. Well, 2′s sucks (and sucks hard), my 5′s has a decent ranking though said GM is in control of it and is never online, and before essentially spending most nights grinding BG’s I have picked up partners for a PHD 3′s team that just hasn’t taken off full-flight yet. I do enjoy arenas and plan on playing them more, but I’ve learned that when you find a good group of guys you enjoy playing with you may as well enjoy the fruits of those relationships while they last.

Anyway, the GM has been gone for over 3 weeks and there is no timetable for a return, so yesterday I left that guild in the capable hands of three others who were in charge of it alongside myself. I joined the group of guys that I have been grinding with lately, and the above screenshot represents the first BG I ran with their tag actually over my head (you can tell we’ve been a bit of a grab-bag type of group).

Finally, last night I hit 1900 to finally achieve the same PvP rank that my warrior in vanilla still carries to this day. Points are scarce as of now with games against very low teams awarding single digits and the higher ones awarding in the 20′s, but I do maintain hope of taking that rating over 2200 before Season #10 launches assuming with Patch 4.1.0.

One Response to “Since the Last Update…”

  1. [...] night and 9 more points needed, we queue into Gilneas and the above screenshot tells it all…Reckful again. Now for those all claiming that grinding long enough gets you to 2200, it is partially true but [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

